Log has written
SUNDAY, FEBRUARY 12, 2012

New Delhi: The Delhi high court has restrained a cybersquatter from using the domain names bhartiwalmart.in and bharti-wal-mart.com.

The court passed the interim order on a suit filed by Bharti Wal-Mart Pvt. Ltd, a Bharti and Wal-Mart joint-venture for wholesale cash-and-carry business, seeking an order restraining Bangalore resident Somesh Gupta, who has registered the domains in his name.

The infringement suit also sought a direction to Gupta to transfer the domains in the name of Bharti Wal-Mart.

The company said it was the lawful owner and proprietor of marks “Bharti” and “Wal-Mart” and the legitimate claimant to both the domain names.

The registration of bhartiwalmart.in and bharti-wal-mart.com would expire in January 2010 and January 2009, respectively. The company said it had found that the websites were not operational but were “parked” by Gupta.

Bharti Wal-Mart also sought Rs2 lakh as compensation for the damage to its goodwill.

Tags - Find More Articles On:
READ MORE ARTICLES BY:
blog comments powered by Disqus
Factory output slumps in Dec
Industrial production growth slips to 1.8%, strengthens case for central bank to kick off rate-cut cycle
Legrand group to buy UPS division of Numeric Power
Legrand will pay Rs 806.44 crore for the units in India and Sri Lanka, and another $4.5 million (around...
Army chief withdraws case, govt says his integrity not questioned
Singh’s year of birth will remain 1950 officially, thereby leading to his retirement on 31 May...
The question of motive
Mint’s online and print opinion sections seek to set the agenda using logical arguments and would...
Bobby Yazdani | Think of us as a private social network for business
Saba’s Bobby Yazdani says the business world is not just about collaboration, but also about connecting...