Facebook has been trying to take on rivals such as Snapchat by adding new features on not just the Facebook app, but also its other social media platforms such as WhatsApp and Instagram. Some of the latest additions to Instagram includes the disappearing messages feature within Direct and the two-factor authentication for additional security. We take a look at some of these new features and how they work.
Disappearing Direct messages
Instagram users can now share a disappearing photo or video in the same direct message where they have been chatting with a friend. These will show with the rest of the messages in the chat thread. One can distinguish between regular messages and disappearing messages with the blue icon used in the latter.
Disappearing photos and videos will show in the thread and will disappear on their own after a while. Instagram users can send a disappearing photo or video by tapping on the blue camera icon at the bottom left of the screen in a Direct message. The sender will be notified when a disappearing photo or video has been seen, replayed or a screenshot was taken.
Post multiple photos
The option to share only one photo in a post was a limitation that has been set right. Instagram now allows users to share up to 10 photos in a single post. The option to apply filters and edit a photo will work in this case too. Users can make these changes in all photos before uploading them. One can also change the order of photos by simply tapping and holding the photos. Instagram users can detect photo albums in their feeds with the blue dots appearing at the bottom of the photos. One can see all the photos in an album by swiping left to right.
Instagram has added a two-factor authentication to protect users by integrating their mobile number with their account. Once activated, a six-digit code is sent through a text message to verify the number. After this, the user is provided five backup codes which they can use for verification after punching in the username and password every time they sign into the account. This acts as a second line of defence and ensures no one can log into your account even if they have your username and password.