Delhi MCD Election Results 2017

Source: media reports

Campaigning for 4th phase of LS polls ends

Campaigning for 4th phase of LS polls ends
Comment E-mail Print Share
First Published: Tue, May 05 2009. 05 08 PM IST
Updated: Tue, May 05 2009. 05 08 PM IST
New Delhi: Campaigning ends Tuesday for the fourth round of the Lok Sabha polls on May 7, when the fate of BJP President Rajnath Singh, Congress’ Pranab Mukherjee, SP supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav and RJD chief Lalu Prasad would be decided.
Star campaigners of the UPA, the NDA and the Third Front traversed through the country and told voters in the states going to the polls why the other alliance should not be elected instead of talking about any worthwhile issues affecting today.
Congress general secretary Rahul Gandhi stepped up his tirade against BJP’s PM hopeful L K Advani, saying he should have resigned as the home minister once he realised that a cabinet colleague of his had escorted terrorists in return for the release of hostages in Kandahar.
The BJP, too, continued its criticism of Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, calling him “weak”.
“If the Prime Minister only wants to clear files while the political decisions are taken by Sonia Gandhi, then I am afraid what we need is a cabinet secretary and not a Prime Minister,” BJP general secretary Arun Jaitley said.
Left, which withdrew support to the UPA over the civil nuclear deal with the US, saying that its policies are “retrograde” and “lack far-sightedness”.
A total of 1,315 candidates, including 119 women, are in the fray in the fourth phase that will witness polling to 85 Lok Sabha seats in eight states and union territories.
Prominent among the candidates are National Conference’s Farooq Abdullah (Srinagar), Congress’ Kapil Sibal (Chandni Chowk), Sachin Pilot (Ajmer), Shekar Suman (Patna Saheb), BJP’s Shatrughan Sinha (Patna Saheb), HJC’s Bhajan Lal (Hisar) and RLD’s Ajit Singh (Baghpat).
Rajnath Singh is contesting from Ghaziabad Lok Sabha seat, while Mukherjee is fighting from Jangipur and Mulayam from Mainpuri. Lalu Prasad, who has already entered polls from Saran Lok Sabha seat, is also contesting from Pataliputra to further secure his place in Parliament.
Former BJP strongman Kalyan Singh is fighting as an independent with the support of Samajwadi Party from Etah.
Polling for all the 25 seats in Rajasthan, 10 in Haryana and seven in Delhi will be completed at one go.
Comment E-mail Print Share
First Published: Tue, May 05 2009. 05 08 PM IST