Chautala & Co.

A list of politicians who have been convicted by courts
Comment E-mail Print Share
First Published: Tue, Jan 22 2013. 04 07 PM IST
A file photo of Om Prakash Chautala. Photo: Hindustan Times
A file photo of Om Prakash Chautala. Photo: Hindustan Times
Updated: Tue, Jan 22 2013. 10 23 PM IST
22 January 2013: Former Haryana chief minister and Indian National Lok Dal chief Om Prakash Chautala and his son Ajay Chautala, also a politician, sentenced to 10 years in jail in connection with irregularities linked to the recruitment of teachers in the state.
31 August 2012: A special court in Ahmedabad convicts former minister and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Maya Kodnani and sentenced her to life imprisonment for the Naroda Patiya massacre during the riots in Gujarat in 2002.
2 June 2012: An anti-graft court in Karnataka sentences BJP legislator Y. Sampangi for three-and-a-half year in a bribery case.
30 March 2012: A special CBI court in Patiala sentences former Punjab minister and Shiromani Akali Dal leader Bibi Jagir Kaur to five years’ rigorous imprisonment for of forcing her daughter to undergo abortion. She was also found guilty of abducting her daughter, who was later found dead under mysterious circumstances.
20 November 2011: Former telecom minister and Congress leader Sukhram was convicted and sentenced for five years for accepting a Rs.3 lakh bribe in 1996 by a Delhi trial court.
6 May 2011: A sessions court in Lucknow convicts Bahujan Samaj Party legislator Shekhar Tiwari of murdering a Public Works Department engineer in 2008. He was sentenced to life imprisonment.
11 March 2011: Rashtriya Janata Dal leader Mohammad Shahabuddin, convicted in six cases, was sentenced to three years’ rigorous imprisonment in connection with kidnapping a head clerk. He was already convicted and sentenced to life imprisonment for the kidnapping and murder of Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) activist and trader Chote Lal Gupta.
18 February 2011: Former power minister and Kerala Congress (B) leader R. Balakrishna Pillai sentenced to one-year imprisonment by the Supreme Court for corruption in awarding a hydro power project.
29 June 2010: A fast track court in Orissa convicts BJP’s Manoj Pradhan in a murder case related to the Kandhamal anti-Christian violence of 2008.
12 August 2009: A CBI court in Bihar convicts Janata Dal (United) legislator Vijay Kumar Shukla alias Munna Shukla of murdering former RJD minister Brijbihari Prasad.
14 February 2008: A CBI court in Patna convicts Lok Sabha member and RJD leader Rajesh Ranjan alias Pappu Yadav in the case of murder of Communist Party of India (Marxist) legislator Ajit Sarkar.
28 November 2006: Former union minister and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha chief Shibu Soren convicted by a Delhi court after it held him guilty of conspiracy in the kidnapping and murder of his former private secretary Shashi Nath Jha.
4 February 2003: A Delhi court convicts Mukhtar Ansari, a legislator from Uttar Pradesh, under the Terrorist and Disruptive Activities (Prevention) Act, which was later quashed by the Supreme Court.
Compiled by Liz Mathew & Anuja
Comment E-mail Print Share
First Published: Tue, Jan 22 2013. 04 07 PM IST