Mumbai: Business consultancy firm EY on Thursday said that it has named Bajaj Finserv’s Sanjiv Bajaj as the entrepreneur for 2017, the company said in a statement on Thursday.

“Sanjiv Bajaj will now represent India at the EY World Entrepreneur of the Year award (WEOY) in Monte Carlo from 13-17 June, 2018," EY said in a statement.

The company also conferred E. Sreedharan, who spearheaded metro projects in Delhi, Kolkata, Kochi, and Lucknow, with the lifetime achievement award.

Others who received awards across categories include Zerodha founder and chief executive Nithin Kamath (start-up), SpiceJet chairman Ajay Singh (business transformation), Dalmia Bharat Group’s Puneet Dalmia (manufacturing), Enzen Global Solution’s chairman Satheesh Kumar K.R. (services), Edelweiss Group’s Rashesh Shah (financial services), Page Industries’ Sunder Genomal (consumer products and retail), Glenmark Pharmaceutical’s Glenn Saldanha (life sciences and healthcare), Bharti Infratel’s Akhil Gupta (entrepreneurial CEO), and ReNew Power Ventures founder Sumant Sinha (energy, real estate and infrastructure).

“The winners this year comprise first-time entrepreneurs who are disrupting sectors with innovation or dominating new industries as also individuals with family enterprises, where despite being in conventional businesses, they have created massive differentiation with their aspirations, innovations and execution intensity," EY India chairman Rajiv Memani said in a statement.

The awardees were selected by a nine-member jury led by Sun Pharmaceuticals’ managing director Dilip Shanghvi.