Twilight ‘08: Short film festival in the Capital

Twilight ‘08: Short film festival in the Capital

New Delhi: Twilight ‘08 is a short film festival organized by the Sri Aurobindo Centre that showcases and promotes short films and documentaries made by students and budding film makers from India. These compete for prizes in different categories under the student and professional sections.

Twilight provides a platform to filmmakers integrating the art and artist along with cheaper technology as they come up with imaginative stories and formats. Around the visual expression are a series of panel discussions and debates.

Last year, Twilight ‘07 screened 56 films. This year there will be two separate competition sections for student filmmakers with 36 films and professional filmmakers with 20 films. These are short features of up to 20 minutes duration and non-features of up to 30 minutes duration.

The jury for the professional filmmakers will be headed by filmmaker Mani Kaul and is expected to include Madan Gopal Singh and Gargi Sen. The students’ jury will have Namrata Joshi, A F Mathews, and Amit Sengupta.

“Aestheshorts" is the new section that will debate and discuss about aesthetics, form, technology and marketing of the short film genre. This will be done by taking up different aspects such as content, form, technology (digital format) and marketing.

Venues for the festival are Alliance Francaise and the India Islamic Cultural Centre and it is scheduled from 11-15 December 2008.