Apurva Purohit now president, Association of Radio Operators of India

Apurva Purohit now president, Association of Radio Operators of India

Mumbai: The first Annual General Meeting of Association of Radio Operators of India (AROI) was held on September 17, 2007 in the spirit of co-operation and interaction between the various Radio Operators of the Nation. The first AGM meeting saw the successful completion of Elections for the Governing Board wherein almost all positions were elected unanimously.

It was decided that the Governing Board of AROI will comprise a central National Governing Board along with a Regional Governing Board with equal representation from the Northern, Southern, Eastern and Western regions of India. Small operators will also be represented through a special Board for them.

The National Governing Board is spearheaded by Apurva Purohit, CEO Radio City who has been appointed as the first elected President. The Board also comprises of four Senior Vice-Presidents; namelyTarun Katial, COO, BIG FM, Abraham Thomas, CEO, Red FM, Rahul Gupta, Director and Project Head, Jagran Radio and Prashant Pandey, CEO, ENIL. Uday Chawla, GM Commercial, India Today Group would serve as the Secretary General to this Board.

The Regional Governing Board comprises of four Vice Presidents, each representing a region; Northern India represented by Harrish Bhatia (Bhaskar Group), West headed by S Keerthi Varan (Hindustan Times) along with General Secretary: Gitanjali Sehgal (Century Communications). East would be represented by Nisha Narayanan (SFM) and General Secretary Monica Nayyar Patnaik (Eastern Media) and South headed by George Sebastian (Matrubhumi) along with and General Secretary Rajiv Nambiar (Hello FM).

It was decided that Mr Ashok Narayan (ECM) as the Vice President along and Bobby Gupta (CCL Media) as the General Secretary would represent the Small Operators Board. A decision was taken that the nominees of other major operators like Malayala Manorama, Kal FM among others will be nominated to the Governing Board at the next Governing Body meeting.

Association of Radio Operators of India (AROI) was set up in 2006 with Mr Rajiv Mishra as its founder President. The AROI is the apex body of the radio players in the country and comprises of almost all the big players in the industry today. The new governing body proposes to escalate the interaction between AROI and the other associated industries to make AROI a platform and a voice of the growing radio industry.