BCCI unveils new IPL format

BCCI unveils new IPL format

New Delhi: BCCI on Sunday announced a new format for the next Indian Premier League, adding more matches and increasing the cap on team spending to nine million dollars.

The 10 IPL franchises will be divided into two groups of five for the fourth season of the competition in 2011, which will have 74 matches compared to the 60 played this year.

The format needed to be changed after the inclusion of two new franchises this year.

Teams are allowed to retain four players in their squads from the last event -- a maximum of three Indians and two foreigners, according to a press release from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

The rest of the players will go into the auction scheduled for the second week of November, the board’s secretary N. Srinivasan said in the press release.

The cap for each team to spend on the players at the auction was raised to $9 million, from the $7 million dollars.

In the new format, each team will play the other four in its group home and away, which means the league stage will consist of 40 matches.

The three top teams from each group will then progress into another round of home and away matches, which will comprise 30 games, followed by semi-finals, a third-place playoff and a final.

The tournament is tentatively scheduled to begin five days after the 2011 cricket World Cup final is held in Mumbai on 2 April.

The board also said it will manage all player contracts directly.

“All player contracts will now be managed by BCCI and signed by BCCI along with the franchise and the player," it said.

The announcements mark a new chapter for the popular Twenty20 competition in the absence of its suspended chief Lalit Modi.

Modi was suspended as IPL commissioner after the conclusion of the third edition in April following allegations of corruption, tax evasion and money-laundering, which sparked a government probe.

A three-member disciplinary panel of the board is also conducting its own enquiry into the allegations against Modi.