Home / Industry / India wins Test series in Sri Lanka after 22 years

Colombo, Sri Lanka: Ravichandran Ashwin took four wickets on Tuesday to propel India to its first Test series win in Sri Lanka in 22 years, defeating the hosts by 117 runs in the third Test.

Angelo Mathews scored a fighting 110 and shared 135 runs for the sixth wicket with Kusal Perera (70), giving Sri Lanka a chance to save the test. But Perera’s dismissal shortly before tea exposed the tail and the hosts lost their remaining wickets in five overs after the break.

Fast bowler Ishant Sharma took three important wickets.

Cheteshwar Pujara was named the man of the match for his unbeaten 145 in India’s first innings and Ashwin was adjudged the man of the series.

India hadn’t won a test series in Sri Lanka since 1993 under captain Mohammad Azharuddin.

Sri Lanka won the first test in Galle by 63 runs and India won the second match by 278 runs.

Catch all the Industry News, Banking News and Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.
More Less
Recommended For You
Get alerts on WhatsApp
Set Preferences My ReadsWatchlistFeedbackRedeem a Gift CardLogout