Cricket board reconstitutes IPL’s governing council

Cricket board reconstitutes IPL’s governing council

Mumbai: The governing council of the Indian Premier League (IPL) was reconstituted on Wednesday as part of a shakeup that officials said was aimed at improving governance of the Twenty20 cricket tournament.

The term of the new governing council, which is a sub-committee of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), was reduced to one year from five years.

The decisions were taken by the BCCI at its annual general meeting, which also appointed interim chairman Chirayu Amin as full-time chief of IPL.

Loading video...

Arun Jaitley, Rajeev Shukla, Anurag Thakur, Ranjib Biswal, Ajay Shirke and former Indian all-rounder Ravi Shastri were named members of the council.

Veteran Sunil Gavaskar, who was a member of the dissolved council, didn’t figure in the list of new council members. BCCI president Shashank Manohar said the board hadn’t yet managed to speak to Gavaskar to find out whether he would consent to be a member.

The cricketers were earlier paid 1 crore to be a part of the governing council, but the BCCI has now decided that no payment would be made to them.

Manohar told a media briefing that “the rules and constitution of the board were amended and the constitution of the IPL governing council was changed" at the board meeting on Wednesday.

BCCI secretary N. Srinivasan, the board’s president-elect, and Rajeev Shukla, chairman of the media committee, were also present at the briefing.

To ensure better control, other amendments were made to the board constitution. The BCCI secretary would now be the only person authorized to sign contracts on behalf of the board. The BCCI also announced its decision to issue show-cause notices to the owners of three IPL franchisees.

Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab were asked to explain why action should not be taken against them for alleged irregularities and breach of the terms and conditions of the franchise agreement.

The Kochi franchisee, which was embroiled in controversy over its bid for the team, has also been asked to incorporate its joint venture within 10 days or face action from the BCCI. Manohar said the consortium that won the franchise had failed to form a joint venture.

“A dispute has arisen between the five persons in the consortium over shareholding and sweat equity, with each group sending us letters not to recognize the other group," he said.

Asked if this could lead to a fresh bid for the 10th IPL team, Manohar said nothing was final yet; the board may even conduct the tournament with nine teams.

Manohar announced that most of the deals sanctioned by suspended former commissioner and chairman of the IPL, Lalit Modi, had been cancelled following the discovery of “several irregularities" during the audit of IPL Season 3 accounts.

“The board also decided to lodge a police complaint in the matters of sale of tickets by Ticket Genie, contract with Visual Impact for Security Vans among others," said a BCCI statement to the media.

At the briefing, Manohar said the deals between IPL and Viacom 18 Pvt. Ltd (for the Colors channel) and Zoom Communications would be called off. Union minister of state for commerce and industry Jyotiraditya Scinda has been appointed chairman of the finance committee and Farooq Abdullah as chairman of the marketing committee.

The cricket board also decided to withdraw a civil suit filed against former board president Jagmohan Dalmiya for recovery of money. His expulsion from the board was also revoked. Manohar said experts had opined that there were few chances of the suit succeeding so the suit had been withdrawn.

Srinivasan is expected to take over from Manohar next year. Other current office bearers were elected unopposed to their respective positions. Besides Srinivasan and Manohar, treasurer M.P. Pandove and joint secretary Sanjay Jagdale were re-elected for a third term.

Arun Jaitley (north), N.Shivlal Yadav (south) and Arindam Ganguly (east) also managed to retain their seats, while Rajeev Shukla replaced Modi from the central zone and Amin gave way to Niranjan Shah from the west after completing his term.

The report submitted at the AGM showed that the overall income of the BCCI for FY09-10 rose 19% to 47 crore from the previous year. However, its prime property IPL incurred a loss of 41.90 crore because of increased expenses stemming from shifting it to South Africa last year. BCCI generated a profit of 39.27 crore through the Champions League T-20 tournament, according to its annual report.