Mumbai: Harbhajan Singh cracked a stunning 18-ball unbeaten 49 and then grabbed three wickets as Mumbai Indians crushed Deccan Chargers by 41 runs in an Indian Premier League match in Mumbai on Sunday night.

Harbhajan turned the game around for MI with a stunning innings laced with eight fours and two sixes as he single handedly took them from 119 for seven to 172 for seven after the home side were sent into bat and captain Sachin Tendulkar (43-ball 55) had held the innings together with his fourth IPL III half century.

The fiesty off-spinner, who opened bowling for the home side, then took three wickets — including that of dangerous Adam Gilchrist — for 31 runs from his four overs as Deccan Chargers were all out for 131 in 17.4 overs in chase of 173.

Mumbai Indian’s batsman Sachin Tendulkar plays a shot during the Indian Premier League-3 match against Deccan Chargers in Mumbai on Sunday. Shashank Parade / PTI

Harbhajan got superb support from pacers Lasith Malinga, who took three for 12 from his 3.4 overs, and Zaheer Khan who returned with figures of 3/21 from his three overs as MI put up a brilliant bowling effort to notch up a comprehensive victory despite the dew playing a part, though small, at the DY Patil Stadium at Navi Mumbai.

For the defending champions Deccan Chargers, Rohit Sharma was the only batsman to offer resistance to the Mumbai bowlers, top-scoring with a 25-ball 45 which was studded with three fours and two sixes. Herschelle Gibbs contributed a 16-ball 27 which had three fours and two sixes in it.

With Sunday’s win, third on the trot and their fifth in the tournament from six matches, Mumbai Indians are on top of the league standings with 10 points.

For Deccan Chargers, today’s loss was their third in six matches and have six points to their kitty.

Deccan Chargers began their run-chase on a disastrous note by losing skipper Adam Gilchrist to the second ball and to an inspired piece of captaincy by Tendulkar.

The only partnership worth of note in the innings till Harbhajan pulverising knock was the 60-run stand Tendulkar forged with Dwayne Bravo (23 in 16 balls) before the home team lost five wickets in 35 balls.

Pacer R P Singh and spinner Pragyan Ojha triggered the collapse with two wickets apiece and from 64 for one Mumbai Indians were 92 for five before Jaskaran Singh dismissed Kieron Pollard to leave MI at 93 for five in the 14th over.

Tendulkar was out in the 17th over while trying to force the pace, top-edging a pull off R P Singh to rival skipper and stumper Adam Gilchrist to give the left arm bowler his third wicket of the innings.

Harbhajan used the long handle to strike a few meaty blows, slamming Andrew Symonds and Kemar Roach for a six each, to give the total a healthier look. Nineteen runs came off the penultimate over with the feisty off-spinner hitting Roach for a six and three fours.

The last over started by Jaskaran Singh was dramatic as he had to be taken off the attack after bowling two beamers at Harbhajan off the first two balls.

The over was completed by Rohit Sharma and Harbhajan cracked the part-timer for three fours to end the MI innings on a high note.

Score Board

Deccan Chargers

Adam Gilchrist c Tendulkar b Harbhajan 0

Monish Mishra c McLaren b Malinga 13

Herschelle Gibbs c Pollard b Zaheer 27

Andrew Symonds c Bravo b Malinga 1

Rohit Sharma b Zaheer 45

T Suman c and b Harbhajan 15

Venugopal Rao c McLaren b Pollard 7

Jaskaran Singh c(sub) Duminy b Harbhajan 1

Kemar Roach b Zaheer 10

R P Singh b Malinga 1

Pragyan Ojha not out 0

Total: 131 all out in 17.4 overs

Bowling: Harbhajan Singh 4-0-31-3, Ryan McLaren 3-0-24-3, Zaheer Khan 3-0-21-3, Lasith Malinga 3.4-0-12-3, Dwayne Bravo 2-0-16-0, Kieron Pollard 2-0-20-1.

Mumbai Indian

Shikhar Dhawan lbw Jaskaran Singh 8

Sachin Tendulkar c Gilchrist b R P Singh 55

Dwayne Bravo c Symonds b R P Singh 23

Saurabh Tiwary c Gilchrist b R P Singh 4

Ambati Rayudu st Gilchrist b Ojha 6

R Satish c Suman b Ojha 3

Keiron Pollard c Suman b Jaskaran Singh 1

Ryan McLaren not out 13

Harbhajan Singh not out 49

Total: 172/7 in 20 overs

Bowling: Kemar Roach 4-0-32-0, Jaskaran Singh 3-0-30-2, Pragyan Ojha 4-0-24-2, R P Singh 4-0-31-3, Symonds 4-0-40-0, Rohit Sharma 1-0-14-0.