The graphic shows how the top 25 run scorers in this year’s IPL fared on four counts: runs scored (shown by size of bubble), the speed at which they scored (Y-axis), how much they averaged per innings (X-axis) and which team they played for (colour of bubble). Chennai has the most number of players in the list (five), but they were, relatively speaking, not prolific in big knocks. Ajinkya Rahane of Rajasthan was the second highest run-getter, but was number 17 in strike rate. Andre Russell did not score too many in this list, but he was a cut above all in speed of scoring. Then, there were David Warner, AB de Villiers and Chris Gayle, who balanced all three metrics the best.

The graphic breaks down the performance of the top 25 wicket-takers: on overs bowled (size of bubble), wickets taken (Y axis), runs conceded per over (X axis) and team played for (colour of bubble). Chennai, the table toppers and eventual runner-up, had six players, ranging from the frugal (Ashwin) to the industrious wicket-takers (Nehra and Bravo). Among those who delivered above 40 overs, Mitchell Starc and Sandeep Sharma stood out for their economy. And Malinga was Malinga. is a search engine for public data.