New Delhi: WPP Plc.-owned creative agency, Ogilvy and Mather, has appointed Piyush Pandey as its global chief creative officer (CCO), effective 1 January 2019, the company said on Wednesday.

The position was lying vacant since July after the agency sacked its worldwide CCO, Tham Khai Meng, following charges of misconduct.

Pandey is currently serving as executive chairman and creative director, Ogilvy South Asia.

“We could not be more thrilled that Piyush will be serving as our chief creative officer, worldwide, and my creative partner. Creativity has and will always be at the heart of the Ogilvy brand and culture. Piyush is the perfect leader to shepherd that legacy as we continue to focus on making brands matter as the leading creative network in the world," said John Seifert, chief executive, worldwide, Ogilvy, in a statement.

Ogilvy also announced the expansion of its worldwide creative council from 12 members to 20, with women comprising half of the creative leadership team.

The names will be announced in January.

With more than three decades of experience in the advertising industry, Pandey has created many memorable campaigns for brands such as Cadbury, Fevicol and Asian Paints, among others.

He has been associated with Ogilvy since 1982.

Pandey was awarded Lion of St Mark, the Cannes Lions’ Lifetime Achievement Award, along with brother and filmmaker Prasoon Pandey.

It is the highest honour that the Cannes International Festival of Creativity bestows on creative geniuses within the communications industry.

The Pandey brothers were not only the first Asians to win the award, but were also the first from WPP to be awarded a Lion of St Mark.

Besides, Pandey was the first Asian to be a jury president at the Cannes Film Festival, in 2004.

He was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award from CLIO Awards in 2012.

Last year, he received the Lifetime Achievement Award from The Advertising Agencies Association of India (AAAI). He is also the first person in advertising to receive the Padma Shri, an award conferred by the President of India.