Congress set to return to power in Mizoram

Congress set to return to power in Mizoram

Aizawl: The Congress, riding an anti-incumbency wave, is set to storm to power in Mizoram winning 12 seats and leading in many in the 40-member Assembly.

Three-time chief minister and state PCC chief Lal Thanhawla triumphed in both South Tuipui and Serchhip seats defeating his opponents J Lalchhuana and C Lalramzauva, both of the UDA, respectively.

The Congress which had nine seats in the outgoing assembly was also leading in some party strongholds and Kolasib seat which is held by the ruling MNF.

The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) suffered a jolt when two-time chief minister and party president Zoramthanga was humbled by Congress opponent T T Zothansanga, a first timer, in the prestigious Champhai North seat.

He is also contesting from Champhai South constituency, the result of which was yet to be declared.

The victory of the Congress sparked off celebrations in the Congress Bhavan here with supporters setting off crackers and beating drums

Another major player in the polls, the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) also suffered defeat with its deputy chief ministerial candidate Lalduhoma losing to his Congress opponent and a first timer R L Pianmawia.

Among the other prominent losers were assembly Speaker Lalchamliana and his deputy C Lalrinsanga who were both defeated by the Congress nominees.