BJP gets absolute majority, Modi to be sworn in as CM on 27 Dec

BJP gets absolute majority, Modi to be sworn in as CM on 27 Dec


Evening update

Ahmedabad: In a major victory, the BJP today got an absolute majority in the Gujarat Assembly elections capturing power for the fourth straight time propelled by Chief Minister Narendra Modi who gets a third term in office.

With eight results left to be declared, the BJP got 111 seats and may end up a few seats short of a two-third majority in a House of 182. The victory of BJP, which had won 127 seats in the previous elections, is seen as a powerful endorsement of the 57-year-old Chief Minister.

The Congress, whose earlier tally was 51, got 60 seats marginally improving its position over 2002 elections. Others got three seats.

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, who had attacked the Modi government’s performance in the election campaign, called the Chief Minister over phone and congratulated him on his victory.

The Parliamentary Board of the BJP will meet here in the evening to take stock of the situation.

Modi, who will be sworn in on December 27, led the victory trail vanquishing Union Minister and Congress leader Dinsha Patel by 87,000 votes in Maninagar to consolidate the saffron’s party hold in its Hindutva laboratory.

Morning news

Ahmedabad: Narendra Modi is set to retain power in Gujarat as the party was poised for a fourth straight victory in the Assembly elections winning 20 seats and leading in 99 constituencies.

The opposition Congress has won seven seats and was ahead in 50 seats in a performance that was marginally better than in the last elections in 2002 when it won 51 seats. ‘Others’ were ahead in six seats.

Modi, who will take oath as Chief Minister for a third time, is leading in Maninagar here while his ministerial colleagues Amit Shah (Home), Vajubhai Vala (Finance), Anandiben Patel (Education) were ahead in their constituencies.

The BJP’s victory, seen as a powerful endorsement of the 55-year-old Chief Minister, will bring in a slightly reduced number of seats from the 127 it had in the 182-member Assembly in 2002.

The saffron party did well in all the regions including those hit by dissidents like Keshubhai Patel but dropped some seats in Central Gujarat, the theatre of post-Godhra violence.

Congress conceded defeat when its spokesperson Abhishek Singvi congratulated Modi for a “remarkable and great" victory. “I don’t grudge him the victory."

However, he maintained the victory does not remove the blot or invalidate all that happened during the post-Godhra riots under his Chief Ministership.