New Delhi: The winter session of Parliament will run from 11 December to 8 January, the government said on Wednesday.

The cabinet committee on parliamentary affairs (CCPA) made the decision in this respect on Tuesday night, according to the Union minister of state for parliamentary affairs, Vijay Goel.

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government plans to table the controversial bill banning instant triple talaq during the session.

“The CCPA has decided that winter session of Parliament will commence on 11 December and continue till 8 January. We hope the opposition parties will support the Union government in the passage of crucial bills that will be tabled in Parliament. The government is ready to discuss all issues in both the Houses," Goel said.

The nearly month-long winter session will have 20 working days and eight bills will be tabled in the Rajya Sabha and 15 in the Lok Sabha, Goel said.

This will be the last full session for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led NDA before the 2019 general election.