New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday formally named Kiran Bedi as its chief ministerial candidate for the Delhi assembly elections. Bedi will contest the polls from the Krishna Nagar assembly seat, party president Amit Shah said.

Bedi, a former Indian Police Service (IPS) officer who was part of the anti-corruption movement that led to the creation of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), joined the BJP last week.

The party, however, decided not to field Bedi in a direct contest with AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal from the New Delhi constituency. The BJP is likely to field Nupur Sharma, a youth leader of the party and an alumunus of London School of Economics, against the former chief minister of Delhi, according to a senior leader, who spoke on condition of anonymity.

Sharma was part of the Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) when she was a member of the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarti Parishad (ABVP), the student wing of the BJP.

The induction of Bedi in the BJP had sparked reports of divisions among state leaders over the decision.

But on Monday the party denied any such problems. “There is no infighting in BJP. The reality is completely opposite because leaders of the AAP and the Congress are joining the BJP," environment minister Prakash Javadekar told reporters.

The list of BJP candidates for Delhi elections was expected to be released later on Monday.

The Delhi elections are scheduled for 7 February and the results will be announced on 10 February.