Cong heading for victory in Arunachal Pradesh

Cong heading for victory in Arunachal Pradesh

Itanagar: The ruling Congress was on Thursday headed for victory in the 60-member Arunachal Pradesh Assembly, winning 25 seats and leading in six others, leaving rivals and UPA partners, Trinamool Congress and NCP, far behind with two each.

Of the 25 seats won by the Congress, Chief Minister Dorjee Khandu and two others were elected unopposed. The party had contested all the 60 seats.

Among the Congress heavyweights who won were APCC president Nabam Tuki from Sagalee, home minister Jarbom Gamlin from Liromoba, industries minister Tanga Byalin from Nacho, finance minister Kaliko Pul from Lekang, water resources development minister Tako Dabi from Nari-Koyu and food and civil supplies minister C.C. Singpho from Bordumsa-Diyum.

Among Congress losers were Tsering Gyurmi, a close confidante of the chief minister. He lost to People’s Party of Arunachal Party candidate Phurpa Tsering.

The son of former chief minister Gegong Apang, Omak Apang lost to BJP’s Tangor Tapak of BJP from Pasighat West.

The Trinamool Congress, which contested the elections for the first time in the state, have won two seats so far - Khonsa East and Chayang Tajo.

The NCP won two seats and the BJP one. The People’s Party of Arunachal Pradesh won the Palin and Dirang seats.