Home / Politics / Policy /  Bihar records 60% voting for 7 Lok Sabha seats

Patna: Despite the mercury soaring over 42 degrees Celsius, around 60% voter turnout was recorded at the end of voting in seven Lok Sabha seats of Bihar in the third phase on Thursday.

While Supual registered 59% voting till 6pm, it was 60% in Araria, 64% in Kisanganj, 64% in Katihar, 59% in Purnia, 55% in Bhagalpur and 56.43% in Banka, an Election Commission statement said.

Voting percentage rise was maximum in Kisanganj and Katihar seats this time as compared to the last elections.

BJP’s Shahnawaz Hussain, NCP general secretary Tariq Anwar and senior RJD leader Mohammad Taslimuddin were among the 108 candidates whose fate was sealed in the Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) on Thursday.

Additional Director General of Police (Headquarters) Ravindra Kumar told reporters that 98 anti-socials were arrested during the day for disturbing the voting process.

In Supual LS seat, Rs1.68 lakh unaccounted cash was seized, he said, adding, the Indian Muslim League candidate from the constituency Mohammad Amanullah was arrested on the charge of influencing voters.

There was report of delay in polling in 20 booths in Katihar due to snags in EVM machines. There were also reports of technical problems in EVMs in some other constituencies which were rectified, election office sources said.

Catch all the Politics News and Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.
More Less

Recommended For You

Trending Stocks

Get alerts on WhatsApp
Set Preferences My ReadsWatchlistFeedbackRedeem a Gift CardLogout