New Delhi: The national disciplinary committee of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Monday night expelled from the party four founding members—Yogendra Yadav, Prashant Bhushan, Ajit Jha and Anand Kumar—for anti-party activities.

A statement released by the AAP said: “The committee carefully considered responses furnished by Mr. Yogendra Yadav, Mr. Prashant Bhushan and Mr. Anand Kumar and found them unsatisfactory. The committee reached the unanimous conclusion that Mr. Yogendra Yadav, Mr. Prashant Bhushan and Mr. Anand Kumar had indulged in gross indiscipline and anti-party activities. They have violated the code of conduct detailed in article VI A (a) of party’s constitution."

The statement added, “The committee is of the view that Mr. Ajit Jha failed to furnish his response in stipulated time despite sufficient time to his disposal. After examining the evidence put before it, the committee is of unanimous view that Mr. Ajit Jha is also guilty of gross indiscipline and indulging into anti-party activities."

The rebel leaders had previously been removed from the key decision-making bodies of the party.

Yadav and Bhushan had earlier on Monday hit out at the AAP leadership over show-cause notices sent to them for allegedly fomenting rebellion, saying the party was practising undemocratic politics and its national convenor and Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal behaving like a “supreme leader".

They were replying to show-cause notices sent by the AAP national disciplinary committee that was set up on 29 March, a day after the two men were thrown out the party’s national executive committee. The committee sent the notices to the four rebel leaders on 17 April alleging they were guilty of working against the interests of the party.

In his reply, Yadav had called the entire process “a pre-scripted drama".