Two TDP MPs resign from LS, attack Chidambaram

Two TDP MPs resign from LS, attack Chidambaram

New Delhi: Joining the bandwagon of those resigning, two TDP MPs from Telangana region today quit from the Lok Sabha in protest against delay in formation of a separate state and targeted home minister P Chidambaram for being “totally responsible" for the present situation.

Nama Nageswara Rao, the TDP parliamentary party leader, and Ramesh Rathod met speaker Meira Kumar here and tendered their resignation.

TDP has six members in the Lok Sabha. Rao and Rathore hail from the Telangana region.

The move came a day after 10 Congress MPs from the region resigned, mounting pressure on the Centre and their party High Command to take an early decision on the statehood demand.

Rao said that he and Rathod apprised the speaker of the prevailing situation in Andhra Pradesh, particularly the Telangana region and sought her intervention in resolving the crisis.

The TDP leader said the Centre should abide by its statement made on 9 December, 2009 in which it announced that steps would be initiated for the formation of a separate Telangana state.

Asked about Chidambaram’s remarks yesterday that two political parties were yet to give their views in the Telangana issue, Rao said “Chidambaram is totally responsible for this situation. He has confused everyone and the current situation is entirely his creation".

The home minister had said that consultations with political parties were not yet complete and no final decision has been taken on the issue.