Home / Politics / Policy /  Assembly elections 2017: The winners and losers

Bharatiya Janata Party: A clear winner. Is set to win in two of the five states that went to polls, including Uttar Pradesh, and has a chance in two others, although it does seem to have lost some ground in Goa.

Narendra Modi: The elections were a referendum on his policies, especially the contentious demonetisation drive, and the win, especially in Uttar Pradesh is clearly his.

Indian National Congress: Not as big a loser as it looks right now. The party has won Punjab, and has a fighting chance in Manipur and Goa.

Rahul Gandhi: A clear loser. The performance of the coalition in Uttar Pradesh has dealt another blow to his political credentials.

Samajwadi Party: The loser twice over. First for its loss today. And also for the infighting ahead of the elections that has left it weaker.

Akhilesh Yadav: Another clear loser. A month and half ago, he seemed a winner, but that may well have been just clever perception management.

Bahujan Samaj Party: A loser. The party’s performance was along expected lines, though, and it wasn’t the dark horse a few analysts expected it to be.

Mayawati: A loser. But what’s happening with her?

Amarinder Singh: Winner, and how! He has also established himself as one of the most important leaders in the Congress.

Catch all the Politics News and Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.
More Less
Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Recommended For You

Edit Profile
Get alerts on WhatsApp
Set Preferences My ReadsWatchlistFeedbackRedeem a Gift CardLogout