Chennai: Former Manonmaniam Sundaranar University vice-chancellor Vasanthi Devi will take on Tamil Nadu chief minister J. Jayalalithaa from Chennai’s R.K. Nagar constituency for the 16 May assembly election, contesting on a Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK) ticket.

Thol. Thirumavalavan, founder, VCK, said Devi is a well-known educationist who has fought for women’s issues.

M. Karunanidhi-led Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) has already fielded Shimla Muthuchozhan, a political novice to contest against Jayalalithaa.

Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK) on Tuesday nominated its women’s wing secretary P. Agnes for the same seat. C. Devi, a transgender will also fight it out from the constituency representing the Naam Tamilar Katchi, a debutant political party.

BJP announced that M.N. Raja, son-in-law of former AIADMK minister Aranganayakam, will contest for the same seat.

Jayalalithaa will be contesting for the second time from the constituency, from where she was elected in the June 2015 bypoll, following her acquittal in a disproportionate assets case.

Thirumavalavan, who was earlier expected to fight from this constituency, will contest from Kattumannarkoil in Cuddalore district.

People Welfare Front (PWF), launched in July last year, is a coalition of Vaiko-led Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK), the Communist Party of India (Marxist), the Communist Party of India, and Thirumavalavan’s VCK.

Later, PWF joined hands with Vijayakanth’s Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK) and made him the chief ministerial candidate.

The last to join the DMDK-PWF alliance was Tamil Maanila Congress (TMC) led by G.K. Vasan.