Chandigarh, New Delhi: Haryana governor Jagannath Pahadia on Sunday directed Bhupinder Singh Hooda, who was sworn in as chief minister for a second consecutive term, to prove his majority in the state assembly within a week.

“We will be calling the assembly session shortly. After the trial of strength, we will constitute the council of ministers," he said.

Second innings: Bhupinder Singh Hooda (centre) waves after he was sworn in as CM for the second consecutive term in Chandigarh. PTI

The Congress emerged as the single largest party after winning 40 seats in the 90-member House, but cobbled together a majority after securing the “unconditional" support of seven independent candidates. The party had won 67 constituencies in the last assembly elections.

The Indian National Lok Dal, led by Om Prakash Chautala, finished second, with 31 seats.

Hooda has now joined the club of six chief ministers who have held the Haryana chief minister’s post more than once since the formation of the state in 1966.

Bansi Lal (four times), Banarsi Das Gupta (twice), Devi Lal (twice), Bhajan Lal (three times) and Om Parkash Chautala (five times including two terms of less than a fortnight) are the other five.

Hooda first became the chief minister on 5 March 2005.

Meanwhile, Ashok Chavan of the Congress, all set to be sworn in as Maharashtra chief minister for the second time, said on Sunday that the state cabinet would be formed after a meeting of coalition partner Nationalist Congress Party’s legislators on Monday. He added that he would not take the support of Maharashtra Navnirman Sena chief Raj Thackeray.