Three Congress MLAs resign over Telangana demand

Three Congress MLAs resign over Telangana demand

The three MLAs include Jupally Krishna Rao representing Kollapur constituency in Mahabubnagar district, Somarapu Satyanarayana representing Ramagundam constituency in Karimnagar district and Thatikonda Rajaiah representing Station Ghanpur in Warangal district are shortly expected to join Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), which is led by K Chandrasekhar Rao also popularly known as KCR leading the agitation for separate statehood for Telangana.

“Telangana statehood is the aspiration of the people," said Jupally Krishna Rao. “We have waited all these days anticipating the Centre will take a decision on Telangana, but we can’t be mute spectators. The delay is only forcing more youths to commit suicides," he added.

Another MLA Somarapu Satyanarayana, said Congress party lacks commitment on its promise of Telangana state. “The Congress should introspect on why we have to quit a party which is in power," he said.

This is the first instance of Congress MLAs joining TRS party. The movement for the Telangana state gained momentum after the fast-unto-death by TRS chief KCR in November 2009, which forced the Centre to come out with a statement announcing the start of the process for formation of Telangana on 9 December, 2009. But the Centre went back on its promise on 23 January citing more consultations to achieve a consensus due to the resignations of MLAs and MPs from Rayalaseema and Coastal Andhra regions.

The ruling Congress is represented by 50 MLAs, 11 MPs and 16 MLCs from Telangana region. With resignation of three MLAs, the strength has come down to 47 MLAs.

Of the 294 seats in the state assembly, 107 are represented by the 10 districts of the Telangana region, and 16 of 42 parliamentary constituencies.