New Delhi: Senior IAS officer Pradeep Kumar Sinha on Saturday took over as cabinet secretary succeeding Ajit Seth who retired after serving in the post for four years.

Sinha, an IAS officer of 1977 batch from Uttar Pradesh cadre, was power secretary before his new assignment. Earlier, he had served in different capacities at the centre and in states. Seth, a 1974 batch officer, was given a warm send-off by Prime Minister Narendra Modi who wished him all the best for his future.

“After a distinguished career spanning four decades, cabinet secretary Shri Ajit Seth retired today. Best wishes for the new phase in his life," Modi tweeted.

Seth, who is also a Uttar Pradesh cadre, had taken over as cabinet secretary on 14 June 2011 with a fixed tenure up to 13 June 2013. The UPA government had extended his tenure by a year. The Modi-government had given six-month extension to Seth in June. He was due to retire on 13 December and then he was given another extension of six months, which expired on Saturday. PTI