Home/ Politics / Policy/  Only BS-IV compliant vehicles from October onwards: govt

New Delhi: The government on Wednesday said only Bharat Stage IV-compliant vehicles will be sold and registered from October onwards in seven states, and emission standards will come into force in the entire country by 1 April 2017. With this, only those newly manufactured four-wheeled vehicles, which are complaint with BS-IV vehicle emission standards will be allowed to be registered and ply on roads with effect from the notified dates in the notified areas.

The ministry of road transport & highways on Wednesday issued a notification that only “Bharat Stage IV (BS-IV) compliant four wheeler vehicles will be manufactured on and from October 1, 2015" in Jammu & Kashmir, barring Leh and Kargil, Punjab, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, parts of Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh.

The districts covered under Rajasthan include Hanumangarh and Sri Ganganagar while in Uttar Pradesh, districts of Saharanpur, Muzaffarnagar, Bijnaur, Jyotiba Phule Nagar, Rampur, Muradabad, Aligarh, Badaun, Bareilly, Mathura, Mahamayanagar, Etah, Agra, Firozabad, Etawah, Mainpuri, Pilibhit, Shamli, Sambhal, Farrukabad, Kannauj, Auriya and Kasganj will come under the ambit of new emission norms.

The BS-IV emission norms will be applicable in five more states of Goa, Kerala, Karnataka, Telangana and Odisha, and 1 April 2016 onwards it will be Union territories of Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Andaman and Nicobar Islands. Some districts of Mumbai, Gujarat and Maharashtra will also be covered under BS-IV norms from 1 April 2016, the ministry said in a statement.

The districts in Maharashtra include Thane and Pune while Gujarat districts include Surat, Valsad, Dangs and Tapi. “From April 1, 2017 the mass emission standards for Bharat Stage IV shall come into force all over the country," the statement said. It said BS-IV grade fuel has already been made available in the National Capital Region and the cities of Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Ahmadabad, Bangalore, Hyderabad including Secunderabad, Kanpur, Pune, Surat, Agra, Lucknow and Sholapur with effect from 1 April 2010.

Twenty additional cities were added for BS-IV grade fuel supply from October 2014 while 30 more cities were included from April 2015. “These specifications will further reduce the emissions of Carbon Mono-oxide(CO), Hydrocarbon (HC), Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) and Sulphur (SOx)which are much less in BS-IV fuel as compared to BS III fuel," the government said.

Catch all the Politics News and Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.
More Less
Updated: 19 Aug 2015, 08:48 PM IST
Recommended For You
Get alerts on WhatsApp
Set Preferences My Reads Watchlist Feedback Redeem a Gift Card Logout