Home / Politics / Policy /  Shurhozelie Liezietsu sworn in as Nagaland chief minister

Kohima: Shurhozelie Liezietsu was on Wednesday sworn in as the chief minister of Nagaland by governor P. B. Acharya here. The 81-year-old Liezietsu along with 11 ministers were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Acharya at the Raj Bhavan.

The new chief minister is at present not a member of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly. He will have to get elected within six months from taking office. Liezietsu on Monday became the consensus candidate for the CM’s post after the ruling Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) unanimously elected him leader of its legislature party at its meeting attended by 59 MLAs.

Nagaland has a 60-member Assembly. Liezietsu , who is the Naga People’s Front president, succeeds T. R. Zeliang who stepped down on Sunday amid of protests by various tribal organisations against the state government’s decision to reserve 33% seats for women in urban local body elections.

Liezietsu had been member of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly for eight terms but did not contest the 2013 assembly elections. He is also chairman of the ruling DAN. The ministers inducted on Wednesday were Kiyanilie Peseyie, Yanthungo Patton, P. Longon, C. Kipili Sangtam, C. L. John, Yitachu, Paiwang Konyak, Vikheho Swu, Chotisuh Sazo, Imkong L. Imchen and G. Kaito Aye. Out of 11, Imkong L. Imchen and G. Kaito Aye are the new faces.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.
Recommended For You
Edit Profile
Get alerts on WhatsApp
Set Preferences My ReadsFeedbackRedeem a Gift CardLogout