Home / Politics / Policy /  The unique phenomenon of the arrest of AAP MLAs

New Delhi: The recent arrests of two more members of legislative assembly (MLAs) from the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) have taken the total number of Delhi MLAs arrested in various cases up to 11.

The AAP came to power in February 2015 after securing 67 seats in the 70-member assembly.

The arrests have become a point of contention between the AAP and the Bharatiya Janata Party-led government at the Centre. This is because Delhi is a special state wherein matters of law, order and land come under the Union home ministry.

The AAP has called the series of arrests an undeclared emergency.

“The country chose a government that suppresses its political opponents when it can’t fight them ethically," AAP Delhi convener Dilip Pandey told reporters on Monday.

A look at this rather unique phenomenon of arrests:

24 July 2016: Naresh Yadav

The MLA from Mehrauli was arrested by the Punjab Police on Sunday. He has been arrested in connection with the alleged sacrilege incident which took place on 24 June in Malerkotla, Punjab. A Punjab court has remanded the MLA in police custody for two days.

24 July 2016: Amanatullah Khan

Khan was arrested by the Delhi police after a woman alleged he tried to mow her down after she visited his residence to raise the issue of power cuts. He is an MLA from Okhla assembly constituency.

8 July 2016: Prakash Jarwal

Jarwal, an MLA from Deoli constituency, was arrested for allegedly misbehaving and assaulting a woman. According to reports, the alleged incident took place in June. He was granted anticipatory bail. This is not the first time that the MLA has been arrested. He was arrested in May 2014 for allegedly beating an official of the Delhi Jal Board.

24 June 2016: Dinesh Mohania

The MLA from Sangam Vihar constituency was arrested on charges of assaulting a woman. He was later granted bail. He was arrested while addressing a press conference.

29 May 2016: Jagdeep Singh

Member from Hari Nagar constituency, Singh was arrested for allegedly assaulting the manager of a waste management company. He was later granted bail.

29 January 2016: Mahendra Yadav

AAP’s Vikaspuri MLA Mahinder Yadav was arrested under various charges, including rioting and assaulting a public servant during a protest, while seeking action against an alleged sexual offender. He was later granted bail by a Delhi court.

23 November 2015: Akhilesh Tripathi

The MLA from Model Town was arrested on charges of rioting and criminal intimidation by the Delhi Police. This was after the legislator defied orders of appearance in a case filed in 2013.

28 September 2015: Somnath Bharti

Controversial AAP MLA Somnath Bharti was arrested in connection to a domestic violence and attempt to murder case. The case was lodged by his wife.

21 August 2015: Surinder Singh

The MLA from Delhi Cantonment assembly constituency was arrested for allegedly assaulting an employee of the New Delhi Municipal Corporation. Singh was later granted bail.

8 July 2015: Manoj Kumar

Kumar, an MLA from Kondli constituency in East Delhi, was arrested in a case of alleged cheating and land grabbing. Recently, the MLA faced allegations of domestic abuse and appeared before the Delhi Commission for Women after a complaint was filed by his wife.

9 June 2015: Jitender Singh Tomar

The former law minister and MLA from Tri Nagar constituency was accused of cheating, forgery, forgery with the purpose of cheating and criminal conspiracy. The case was brought to notice after he faced allegations of submitting a fake degree.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our App Now!!

Edit Profile
Get alerts on WhatsApp
My ReadsRedeem a Gift CardLogout