Ranchi: Jharkhand governor K. Sankaranarayanan on Wednesday invited Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) chief and former Union minister Shibu Soren to form the new government in Jharkhand.

Victory mode: JMM chief Shibu Soren along with senior party leader Tek Lal Mahto in Ranchi on Sunday. PTI

The JMM supremo, along with the Bharatiya Janata Party leader Raghubar Das and All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) legislative party head Sudesh Mahto, had on Saturday called on the governor and submitted letters of support of 42 members of legislative assembly (MLAs) in the 81-member House.

Later, on Saturday night, the figure swelled to 44 after the Janata Dal United also handed over a letter of support of its two MLAs (to JMM) to the governor.

Supporting Soren were 18 MLAs of his own party, 18 of the BJP, two of the JDU, five of AJSU and one of Jharkhand Janadhikar Manch.

The Congress has said it would abide by the decision of the governor.