Mamata set to create history in Bengal; Jaya to be CM again

Mamata set to create history in Bengal; Jaya to be CM again

New Delhi: Trinamool Congress-led alliance was on the cusp of a historic victory in West Bengal while Congress appeared set to capture Kerala and retain Assam but its ally DMK was facing rout in Tamil Nadu in the elections to state assemblies.

Congress was also set to retain power in Puducherry for a third consecutive term.

Ending the 34-year rule of the Left Front in West Bengal, Trinamool Congress led alliance is set to sweep elections to the 294-member Assembly by leading in 210 seats while the CPI(M)-led Left Front is ahead in 66 seats.

Trinamool Congress alone is leading in 177 seats, well above the halfway mark of 147 that may enable Mamata Banerjee form a government on her own. Her ally Congress was ahead in 33 seats while CPI(M) was ahead in 48.

AIADMK chief Jayalalithaa is set to become chief minister for the third time in Tamil Nadu after worsting DMK in the keenly-contested elections in which the 2G scam was a major issue.

AIADMK alliance was ahead in 194 seats and DMK combine in 36. AIADMK alone is leading in 136 seats, which well above the half-way mark.

Tarun Gogoi of Congress is on the road to retaining power for a third consecutive term with his party leading in 72 seats out of the total 126 seats.

Congress, which contested alone, gets absolute majority this time unlike last time when it had only 53 seats and had to depend on support of Bodo People’s Front.

Kerala, which appeared to present a neck and neck fight, was finally going the Congress way. The Congress led-UDF was ahead in 73 while CPI(M)-led LDF was leading in 67 seats.

In the 30-member assembly in Puducherry, Congress-led alliance was ahead in 13 seats while N Rangaswamy Congress-led combine was leading in 10.