Congress set for clean sweep in Delhi

Congress set for clean sweep in Delhi

New Delhi: Congress on Saturday appeared to be set for a clean sweep in Delhi with latest trends showing that its candidates were ahead in all the seven Lok Sabha constituencies.

Union minister Kapil Sibal was leading by 47,152 votes over his nearest BJP rival Vijender Gupta in Chandni Chowk constituency from where he was elected last time.

Another Union minister Ajay Maken was ahead of his nearest BJP rival Vijay Goel by 8,013 votes in New Delhi seat.

Chief minister Sheila Dikshit’s son Sandeep, who is contesting from East Delhi, had a comfortable lead over his nearest BJP rival ace cricketer Chetan Chouhan by 28,532 votes.

Sitting MLA Mahabal Mishra is ahead of Delhi Leader of Opposition Jagdish Mukhi by 33,039 votes in West Delhi seat, which is considered a BJP stronghold.

DPCC chief J P Aggarwal, who replaced senior Congress leader Jagdish Tytler from north-east Delhi seat after his candidature became a controversy, was leading over his BJP rival B L Sharma 29,537 votes.

Interestingly, in north-east seat, Haji Dilshad Ali, the BSP candidate who withdrew from the race in favour of Congress two days ahead of the polling, has polled 8,862 votes.

In south Delhi, Ramesh Kumar, who replaced his brother and Congress leader Sajjan Kumar, is leading against his BJP’s Ramesh Bidhuri by 9,117 votes.

Sitting Congress MP Krishna Tirath is also leading in north-west Delhi seat over her nearest BJP rival by 4,346 votes.

In the last elections, Congress had won six seats.