Sonia seeks explanationfrom absentee MPs

Sonia seeks explanationfrom absentee MPs

New Delhi: Congress president Sonia Gandhi has instructed her party leaders to seek explanation from the nine members of Parliament who were not present during question hour on Monday, a day on which Lok Sabha speaker Meira Kumar was forced to adjourn the proceedings due to the absence of members who raised the questions.

According to a Congress leader: “At Gandhi’s instruction parliamentary affairs ministry has sent notices to nine party MPs who could not take up the questions during question hour."

“Congress president has taken a serious view of the incident," said the party leader who did not want to be identified. Of the 38 MPs whose names were listed for raising the questions, 34 were not present forcing an adjournment within half-an-hour after the day’s session began at 11am.

The speaker had to drop 17 questions. Expressing concern, the speaker has said that she would write to all party leaders on the issue. Shruti Choudhary, Harsh Vardhan, Madhu Goud Yaskhi, Anto Antony, Vikrambhai Arjanbhai Maadam, P.T Thomas, Kodikkunnil Suresh, Jhansi Lakshmi and Eknath Gaikawad were the Congress MPs, who were absent.