New Delhi: Railway minister Suresh Prabhakar Prabhu, Union power minister Piyush Goyal and senior Congress leader and former finance minister P. Chidambaram were on Friday elected unanimously to the Rajya Sabha.

Joining Suresh Prabhu in the Rajya Sabha from Andhra Pradesh were Union minister of state for Science and Technology Y. Satyanarayana Chowdary and two other candidates, T. G Venkatesh and V. Vijaysai Reddy, who were elected unopposed in the biennial election.

Election returning officer and Andhra Pradesh Legislature secretary (in charge) K. Satyanarayana Rao formally declared the four nominees elected unopposed as the process for withdrawal ended at 3pm today.

V. Sunanda Reddy, who filed nomination as a dummy candidate on behalf of the YSR Congress, withdrew her papers on Thursday, paving the way for the unanimous election of the four main candidates. Prabhu is a BJP nominee supported by the ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP). Chowdary and Venkatesh are TDP candidates, while Vijaysai is the lone opposition YSRC nominee.

Goyal and Chidambaram were elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Maharashtra.

Others elected from Maharashtra are former union minister Praful Patel (NCP), BJP’s Vinay Sahasrabuddhe and Vikas Mahatme and Shiv Sena’s Sanjay Raut.

Chidambaram did not contest the 2014 Lok Sabha polls while his son Karti had unsuccessfully fought from his native Sivaganga constituency in Tamil Nadu.