Home/ Politics / Policy/  Final seat tally in Assembly Election Results 2017

New Delhi: The Election Commission (EC) finished vote counting on Saturday for assembly election results in five states, including Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa and Manipur.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) stormed back to power in Uttar Pradesh on Saturday after a gap of 15 years, winning a landslide victory in an election that some analysts had termed too close to call.

Here’s the final tally of seats in the assembly elections in the five states:

Uttar Pradesh

The counting of votes for the 403 seats in Uttar Pradesh (UP) assembly elections 2017 saw a historic landslide verdict in favour of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its allies in 403-member UP assembly.


The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won a majority in the 70 seat-Uttarakhand assembly, ousting the Congress led by chief minister Harish Rawat.

*The Election Commission has ordered repolling in one of the booths of Lohaghat assembly seat in Uttarakhand where EVMs went out of order, forcing counting at the station to be stopped midway. Read more


Congress won 77 seats in the 117-member Punjab assembly with Amarinder Singh as its chief ministerial nominee, only one short of the 78 needed for a two-thirds majority.


The counting of votes for the 40 seats in Goa assembly elections 2017 show a close contest between the Congress and BJP, while other smaller parties such as the Goa Forward Party and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak (MGP) also making inroads.


The Congress won 28 seats, but the BJP is hot on its heels with 21 wins and neither party is yet assured of a majority.

Catch all the Politics News and Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.
More Less
Updated: 13 Mar 2017, 06:52 AM IST
Recommended For You
Get alerts on WhatsApp
Set Preferences My Reads Watchlist Feedback Redeem a Gift Card Logout