Telangana Cong leaders remain firm in resolve to resign

Telangana Cong leaders remain firm in resolve to resign

Hyderabad: Despite efforts by the party leadership to mollify them, Telangana Congress MPs, MLAs and MLCs on Sunday asserted that they would submit their resignations en masse tomorrow as announced earlier.

“As per the collective decision taken on 1 July1 by Congress MLAs, ministers, MLCs and MPs, we (Telangana Congress MPs) are going to Delhi. It is decided to submit our resignations between 11 am and 12 noon tomorrow," Ponnam Prabhakar, Karimnagar MP, told reporters here.

“We are not quitting the party. We have decided to resign for the sake of Telangana. We humbly request again that Telangana be given," he said.

Andhra Pradesh Panchayati Raj Minister K Jana Reddy asked the party leaders in Telangana, who are away from Hyderabad, to submit their resignations tomorrow.

Congress Rajya Sabha member and senior party leader K Keshav Rao said there is no compromise on the issue of resignations.

The Telangana Congress leaders met here earlier in the day to discuss the situation arising out of their decision to quit en masse.

The assertion by the Telangana Congress leaders to resign came even as Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy and state Congress chief Botsa Satyanarayana reportedly continued efforts to prevent the lawmakers from quitting.

The Chief Minister and the PCC president had yesterday urged the Telangana leaders to reconsider their decision.

The Congress MPs, MLAs, MLCs and ministers from Telangana region held a meeting on 1 July and announced their decision to quit in support of their demand.

Union Minister and in-charge of party affairs in the state Ghulam Nabi Azad, who was in Hyderabad on 1 July, had made it clear that a decision on Telangana issue cannot be taken in haste as it had a national bearing.

The remarks of Azad came under sharp criticism from party leaders like K Keshav Rao who described it as “nonsense".

There are 294 seats in the Andhra Pradesh Assembly. Around 50 MLAs, 11 MPs and 16 MLCs of Congress are from Telangana.

Meanwhile, the Telugu Desam MLAs from Telangana announced that they would submit resignations soon after the ruling party leaders did so.