Home / Politics / Policy /  Kerala, Tamil Nadu get new assembly speakers

Thiruvananthapuram/Chennai: The Communist Party of India (Marxist), or CPM, member P. Sreeramakrishnan was on Friday elected as the speaker of the 14th Kerala assembly.

Sreeramakrishnan (LDF), who represents Ponnani constituency, secured 92 votes against UDF’s candidate V.P. Sajeendran, who got 46 votes in the 140-member house.

A member of the CPM state committee, 48-year-old Sreeramakrishnan has already proved his talent during his tenure as a member of the legislative assembly.

The house also saw certain politically significant events with the Bharatiya Janata Party’s lone member O. Rajagopal opting to vote in favour of Sreeramakrishnan. Justifying his decision to favour the LDF candidate, the BJP leader said one of the reasons was that UDF had openly stated that they did not want the BJP MLA’s vote.

Rajagopal said BJP would not blindly oppose all government policies but would take decisions on merit in the house. “BJP is committed to exposing the mistakes of both ruling LDF and opposition UDF in the house," he told reporters.

P. Dhanapal is Tamil Nadu assembly speaker

The ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam’s (AIADMK) nominee P. Dhanapal was on Friday unanimously elected speaker of the 15th Tamil Nadu assembly, the first to be elected for a consecutive second term in the state’s legislative history even as chief minister J. Jayalalithaa said her government will respect the opposition’s constructive views.

Jayalalithaa proposed the names of Dhanapal and Pollachi V. Jayaraman as speaker and deputy speaker, respectively, and state finance minister O. Panneerselvam seconded their names when the assembly met.

Soon after, protem speaker Semmalai formally announced the unanimous election of Dhanapal as speaker.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.
Recommended For You
Edit Profile
Get alerts on WhatsApp
Set Preferences My ReadsFeedbackRedeem a Gift CardLogout