Home / Politics / Policy /  Narendra Modi vacates Vadodara seat, Mulayam resigns from Mainpuri

New Delhi: The resignations of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav from Vadodara and Mainpuri Lok Sabha constituencies respectively have been accepted.

The Speaker also accepted the resignation of K. Chandrasekhar Rao from Medak Lok Sabha constituency, Protem Speaker Kamal Nath informed the Lok Sabha on Thursday.

Yadav and Rao had resigned on 26 May, while Modi tendered his resignation on 29 May. All the three resignations were accepted with effect from 29 May.

Modi and Yadav had contested the Lok Sabha elections from two seats. While Modi has retained the Varanasi constituency, Yadav retained Azamgarh.

Rao vacated the Medak seat after he became the first Chief Minister of Telangana on 2 June.

Catch all the Politics News and Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.
More Less
Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Recommended For You

Trending Stocks

Get alerts on WhatsApp
Set Preferences My ReadsWatchlistFeedbackRedeem a Gift CardLogout