Home >politics >policy >MCD election results: BJP candidates win 3 wards in SDMC

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) took an early lead in MCD polls by winning three wards for which results were announced. The party candidates won Janakpuri West and Janakpuri South, in South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC) by defeating AAP candidates.

Narender Chawla won from Janakpuri West by a margin of 1347 votes, while Veena Sharma defeated her AAP rival by 5362 votes. The BJP also won Rajender Nagar ward in North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC).

Also Read: MCD election results 2017 Live Updates

The early victories combined with positive trends reflected BJP’s success in overcoming anti-incumbency despite ruling the three civic bodies including East Delhi Municipal Corporation(EDMC) for last 10 years.

The BJP was leading in all the three-North, South and East Delhi Municipal Corporations. While rivals Congress and AAP were left far behind.

Also Read: MCD election results: Scenarios for a BJP, AAP or Congress victory

The vote counting for 270 wards of three municipal corporations began at 35 centres across the city at 8am. Trends were available for 104 seats. Voting for 270 of the total 272 municipal wards was held on 23 April. Two wards where candidates died, voting was cancelled.

Subscribe to newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Click here to read the Mint ePaperLivemint.com is now on Telegram. Join Livemint channel in your Telegram and stay updated

My Reads Logout