11 rebel MLAs support Yeddyurappa; crisis blows over

11 rebel MLAs support Yeddyurappa; crisis blows over

New Delhi/Bangalore: Uncertainty over the survival of B S Yeddyurappa government in Karnataka ended on Sunday with 11 rebel BJP MLAs, whose disqualification from the Assembly was struck down by the Supreme Court, extending “unconditional support" to the chief minister.

The MLAs, who have been camping in Delhi for the past couple of days, shot off a letter to Governor H R Bhardwaj conveying their decision to support the BJP government in the state.

“There has been a lot of speculation both in the electronic and the print media regarding the support of the undersigned legislators to the BJP government led by B S Yeddyurappa.

“We wish to put to rest all such speculation and we hereby confirm that we continue to be MLAs of the BJP and we extend unqualified support to the government led by B S Yeddyurappa," the rebel MLAs said in their letter while withdrawing their earlier communication revolting against the chief minister.

At a press conference held around noon today, Karnataka government representative Dhananjay Kumar displayed copies of the relevant faxes sent to the Governor.

He said there was no threat to the Yeddyurappa government, claiming that the party enjoyed clear majority in the House.

“Ten BJP MLAs and four Independents who are in the national capital have now issued separate letters of support extending their unconditional support to Yeddyurappa government in Karnataka," Kumar said.

He said: “Similarly one Independent MLA who is in Bangalore has also sent his letter extending unconditional support to the BJP government."

Party sources said the MLAs are planning to meet the Governor and handover individual letters of support to the Yeddyurappa government.

The BJP government faced a crisis after the Supreme Court on Friday quashed the disqualification of 11 rebel BJP MLAs and five Independents by the Speaker in October, 2010.

“There is no crisis in BJP. Our strength has now swelled from 109 to 120. Yeddyurappa government enjoys clear majority (in the 224 assembly)," he said.

The BJP government had won a second trust vote on 14 October 2010 by a narrow margin after the governor gave a second chance to the chief minister to prove his majoirty on the floor of the house. The 11 BJP and 5 Independent MLAs were not allowed to vote then.

In Bangalore, a relieved Yeddyurappa said he had absolute majority in the House. He said though there is no need for a trust vote, “if the Governor wants it, I am duty bound to oblige him".

Earlier in the day, Bhardwaj, who met Prime Minister Manmohan yesterday, kept the pressure on saying he would seek expert opinion on whether a floor test is necessary.