Home >News >World >BRICS countries oppose ban on Vladimir Putin attending G-20 Summit

New Delhi: India, Brazil, China and South Africa on Monday opposed any restrictions on participation of Russian President Vladimir Putin at the G-20 Summit in Australia later this year in the wake of Russia annexing Crimea from Ukraine.

The BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) countries expressed concern over Australian foreign minister Julie Bishop’s comment that Putin could be barred from attending the G-20 Summit in November.

“The ministers noted with concern the recent media statement on the forthcoming G-20 Summit to be held in Brisbane in November 2014. The custodianship of the G-20 belongs to all member-states equally and no one member-state can unilaterally determine its nature and character," the BRICS said in a statement.

The ministers of BRICS countries met on the sidelines of the Nuclear Security Summit in The Hague, Netherlands.

External affairs minister Salman Khurshid represented India. Foreign ministers of China Wang Yi and his Russian counterpart Sergey Lavrov were also present.

After Russia took over Crimea from Ukraine, Bishop had said Putin could be banned from travelling to Australia for the G-20 Summit while supporting the stand of European Union (EU) and the US in attacking Russia on the issue.

US President Barack Obama has already vowed to punish Moscow for annexing Crimea.

India has already made it clear that it will not support any “unilateral measures" against Russian government. The ministers of BRICS countries reflected on challenges to peace and security, notably the “significant infringements" of privacy and related rights in the wake of cyber threats. PTI

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our App Now!!

Edit Profile
My ReadsRedeem a Gift CardLogout