Home >politics >policy >Mizoram records 80% voter turnout in assembly elections

Aizawl: The fate of 142 candidates, including chief minister Lal Thanhawla and his 11 ministers, was sealed in electronic voting machines (EVMs) as 80% polling was witnessed on Monday in the election to the 40-member Mizoram assembly which passed off peacefully.

Polling ended at 3.30pm with an estimated turnout of 80% of the 690,000 voters for the assembly elections, state joint chief electoral officer H. Lalengmawia said.

He said that the percentage of turnout could rise after data is received from remote areas.

The polling percentage was over 80% in three seats adjoining Manipur—Chalfilh, Tuivawl and Serlui, where there were allegations of insurgents intimidating voters, Lalengmawia said.

The ruling Congress fielded candidates in all the 40 seats and the Mizoram Democratic Alliance (MDA), the alliance of Opposition Mizo National Front (MNF), the Mizoram People’s Conference (MPC) and the Maraland Democratic Alliance (MDF) also contested in 40 seats.

The MNF, senior partner of the alliance contested 31 seats in the assembly elections, while the MPC and the MDF fielded candidates in eight and one constituency respectively.

The Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) contested in 38 seats, the BJP in 17, the NCP in two seats, Jai Maha Bharath Party in one while there were four Independents. All the seats were reserved for ST nominees, except Lunglei South which was for general candidates.

Thanhawla cast his vote with his wife Lal Riliani at Zarkawt-II polling station at Babutlang area in Zarkawt locality. The chief minister contested from two constituencies Serchhip, his home turf, and neighbouring Hrangturzo.

Subscribe to newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Click here to read the Mint ePaperLivemint.com is now on Telegram. Join Livemint channel in your Telegram and stay updated

My Reads Logout