Home >Politics >Policy >Delhi elections: The BJP trio who survived AAP onslaught

New Delhi: Former Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) state president Vijender Gupta, Jagdish Pradhan and Om Prakash Sharma are the three leaders who survived Aam Aadmi Party’s electoral onslaught on Tuesday that nearly obliterated the saffron party in a humiliating defeat.

Gupta won by a comfortable margin of 5,367 votes from the Rohini constituency by bagging a total of 59,866 votes in comparison to the 54,499 votes of AAP’s C.L. Gupta.

AAP candidate Rajesh Garg had won the seat in the last elections. The senior BJP leader had contested from the prestigious New Delhi seat in 2013, coming a distant third behind AAP’s Arvind Kejriwal and Congress’ Sheila Dikshit.

The Mustafabad constituency was among the few seats that saw a three-cornered contest in this election, with BJP’s Jagdish Pradhan upending Congress’ Hasan Ahmed by 6,031 votes. While Pradhan garnered 58,388 votes, Ahmed could manage 52,357 votes. AAP’s Mohammed Yunus received 49,791 votes.

In 2013, Congress had won the seat by a margin of 1,896 votes. Vishwas Nagar saw BJP’s Om Prakash Sharma holding on to his seat by defeating AAP’s Atul Gupta by a margin of 7,799 votes. During the 2013 elections, he had defeated Congress’ Naseeb Singh who finished third this time. Sharma received 58,124 votes while Gupta garnered 47,966 votes.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our App Now!!

Edit Profile
My ReadsRedeem a Gift CardLogout