Home/ Politics / Policy/  Bihar polls: JD(U), RJD and Congress finalize seat distribution

Patna: The ‘Mahagathbandhan’, or grand alliance, of JD(U), RJD and Congress on Saturday reached a consensus on seat distribution for the upcoming Bihar assembly election. Top leaders from the three parties jointly announced the seat distribution and pointed out that the parties would announce their candidates individually.

JD(U) state president Vashistha Narayan Singh said the grand alliance partners sat together and reached a consensus on seat distribution and it was done amidst “harmony and bonhomie". Calling it a “big achievement", Congress legislature party leader Sadanand Singh, flanked by RJD state president Ram Chandra Purve and MLC Bhola Yadav, claimed, “Our opponent NDA is riven with severe infighting over seats and their leaders are making personal attacks on each other. On the other hand, we have already decided which party will put up its candidate from where."

The JD(U) state president claimed that the infighting in the NDA rendered it unsuitable to rule Bihar, nor they had the capability to run it. “This election is of national importance as it will decide the future direction of the country," he said.

Of the 243 assembly seats, JD(U) and RJD are contesting 101 seats each while Congress will put up candidates in 41 seats. Among the four prestigious assembly seats in the state capital, the Congress will put up candidates on Bankipur and Kumhrar, JD(U) has got the Digha seat and RJD will contest on Patna Sahib seat. Of these seats in the state capital, the BJP had won Bankipur, Kumhrar and Digha seats in the 2010 assembly elections, while Digha was won by JD(U) leader Poonam Devi, who later turned a rebel. PTI

Catch all the Politics News and Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.
More Less
Updated: 19 Sep 2015, 10:05 PM IST
Recommended For You
Get alerts on WhatsApp
Set Preferences My Reads Watchlist Feedback Redeem a Gift Card Logout