Mumbai: The process for the 15 October election to the 288-member Maharashtra assembly began on Saturday with authorities issuing the poll notification.

The by-poll for the parliamentary seat of Beed, vacated following the death of BJP leader Gopinath Munde, will also be held on 15 October.

“From today, the election process has begun with filing of nominations," a chief electoral office official said.

Maharashtra’s over 8.28 crore voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in the single-phase to elect its 13th assembly. 27 September is the deadline for filing nomination. After scrutiny of papers, the last date for withdrawal of nomination is 1 October. Counting of votes will take place on 19 October.

The existing assembly’s term expires on 8 November. Of the 288 seats, 29 and 25 have been reserved for SC and ST candidates respectively.

Electronic voting machines will be used in all the assembly constituencies. All will have a “none of the above" (NOTA) option button. EVMs in 13 assembly constituencies in Maharashtra will also be equipped with voter verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT). VVPAT is a system where voters will get to verify if their votes have been cast correctly.

My Reads Logout