A file photo of PPA candidate Nikh Kamin.
A file photo of PPA candidate Nikh Kamin.

Congress wins 42 assembly seats in Arunachal Pradesh

The BJP and regional People's Party of Arunachal won 11 and five seats respectively

Itanagar: The Congress secured absolute majority by winning 42 seats (including 11 unopposed) in the 60-member assembly of Arunachal Pradesh. In 2009 elections, too, it had won the same number of seats.

The BJP and regional People’s Party of Arunachal significantly improved their performance in the 7 April assembly polls in the state securing 11 and five seats respectively.

However, the Congress’s strength increased to 55 after five Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), four Trinamool Congress (out of five) and four PPA legislators merged with them.

The lone TMC candidate later joined the PPA.

While Congress secured 2,51,575 (49.5%) of the total votes polled excluding the NOTA numbers, BJP bagged 1,57,412 (31%) and PPA managed 45,532 (9%) votes in this election which was held for 49 seats.

The BJP, which scored three seats in the 2009 polls comprising five per cent of the total seats, this time increased to 18%, while the PPA securing four seats in the last Assembly polls improved from 6.6 to 8.3%.

Sharad Pawar-led NCP which won five seats in 2009 failed to open its account and secured only 19,505 votes (3.8 per cent) in nine constituencies.

The TMC did not field any candidate this time except Gumjum Haider from Arunachal West Parliamentary constituency. The party in 2009 had won five seats.

First timer Naga Peoples’ Front (NPF) which contested in 11 seats could manage only 3,788 votes (0.7%) less than the NOTA option which was recorded at 1% (5,323 votes).

Independents also have improved performance this election with two wins.

A record number of 13 independents won in the 2004 Assembly polls, while only one won in 2009.

The Congress won 53 seats in 2009, 34 in 2005 and 42 in 2009 elections while BJP secured nine and three respectively in 2004 and 2009.

The NCP won four seats in 1999, two in 2004 and five in the last elections.