Home > politics > policy > Assembly elections: Mizoram poll counting on Monday

Aizawl: Counting of votes for 40-member Mizoram assembly, election to which was held on 25 November, would be held on Monday. State joint chief electoral officer H. Lalengmawia on Sunday said that elaborate security arrangements have been made in the counting centres in the eight districts.

Director General of Election Commission of India Ashish Srivastava and a number of observers have arrived to supervise and oversee the process, he said. As many as 142 candidates, including six women, are in the fray.

The ruling Congress has contested all the 40 seats as has Mizoram Democratic Alliance (MDA). MDA constituent Mizo National Front (MNF) has contested in 31, Mizoram People’s Conference (MPC) in eight and Maraland Democratic Front (MDF) contested in one seat. Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) fielded candidates in 38 seats while BJP contested 17 seats. Others included 2 Nationalist Congress Party candidates, one Jai Maha Bharhat Party and four independents.

Chief minister Lal Thanhawla of Congress is in the reckoning from Serchhip, his home turf, and neighbouring Hrangturzo. The main opponent MNF leader and former chief minister Zoramthanga is trying his luck from Tuipui East seat.

Subscribe to newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Click here to read the Mint ePaper Livemint.com is now on Telegram. Join Livemint channel in your Telegram and stay updated

My Reads Logout