Chennai: The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Monday said elections to the Thanjavur and Aravakurichi assembly constituencies in Tamil Nadu will take place on 19 November.

Polling in the two seats was cancelled in the 16 May assembly elections following reports of large-scale distribution of money and gifts to voters by candidates and political parties.

The ECI has also said a byelection will be held on 19 November for the Tiruparankundram assembly seat, which fell vacant following the death of All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) member SM Seenivel. He won from Tiruparankundram, but died before taking his oath as a member of the legislative assembly (MLA).

The commission said bypolls to Lakhimpur (Assam), Shahdol (Madhya Pradesh) and Coochbehar and Tamluk (West Bengal) Lok Sabha constituencies along with bypolls to a total of 8 Assembly seats in Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Tripura and Puducherry will be held on the same day.

The model code of conduct shall come into force with immediate effect, said the ECI.

Jayalalithaa’s AIADMK returned to office for a second consecutive term in the May assembly elections, in which the party won 134 out of 234 seats.