Home >Politics >News >Lal Thanhawla sworn in as Mizoram chief minister

Lal Thanhawla sworn in as Mizoram chief minister

Lal Thanhawla sworn in as Mizoram chief minister

Aizawl: After a gap of a decade, former underground insurgent leader Lal Thanhawla, who steered the Congress to a landslide win in Mizoram assembly elections, was on Thursday, 11 December, sworn in as chief minister for a record fourth time along with two ministers.

Governor Lt General M.M. Lakhera administered the oath of office to 68-year-old Thanhawla, R. Lalzirliana, senior vice-president of Congress in the state and H. Liansailova, a former bureaucrat and party treasurer, at the Raj Bhavan here.

Liansailova is a second-time legislator known for his clean image when he was an officer of the state government. He had been private secretary to three chief ministers—Brig. T. Sailo, Lalthanhawla and late Laldenga.

The portfolios of the two ministers and other ministerial berths would be decided after consultation with the Congress high command in Delhi, party sources said.

Mizoram can have only 12 ministers including the chief minister, under a restriction imposed by the constitution since 2004.

Thanhawla, the sixth chief minister of the state, spearheaded Congress to a thumping win in the 2 December assembly polls toppling Mizo National Front (MNF) from power.

The Congress bagged 32 seats of the 40-member assembly while the MNF could manage only four seats.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters
* Enter a valid email
* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Click here to read the Mint ePaperMint is now on Telegram. Join Mint channel in your Telegram and stay updated with the latest business news.

Edit Profile
My Reads Redeem a Gift Card Logout