New Delhi: T.S. Thakur on Thursday took oath as the 43rd chief justice of India.

He succeeds H.L. Dattu, who retired on Wednesday.

Thakur took his oath in the presence of President Pranab Mukherjee, as required by the Constitution.

The chief justice of India is the head of the judiciary and responsible for not just the administrative oversight of the apex court, but also of judicial appointments and transfers of the higher judiciary—high courts and the Supreme Court.

Thakur will serve a 15-month tenure, retiring on 3 January 2017.

On Wednesday, Thakur said he would focus on reducing pendency during his tenure, declaring 2016 the year for clearing arrears.